Chakras For Beginners — What, How, Why?

chakras for beginners

What Is A Chakra?

Chakra (pronounced “shackra”) is Sanskrit for “wheel” or “circle,” which refers to one of the swirling wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras that run down the center of your body from the crown of your head down to the root of your tailbone.

Each Chakra spins and flows individually and reflects certain aspects of your physical, spiritual and mental nature.

chakras for beginners

How do Chakras work?

A good way to think of your chakra energy is like a series of connected pools in a creek — sometimes the circular flow of a pool can become blocked or slow down because of things that fall in. The same applies to each swirling chakra. By addressing the blockages and living a happy and healthy lifestyle, energy will flow between them and balance will return to your life.

You can open up your energy flow in each chakra using many different techniques. We’ll cover some of those techniques here.

Everyone has their own specific energy flow and how you live your life affects your flow. With many different life circumstances, there isn’t one specific remedy that can be applied.

What Are The 7 Chakras?

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The First Chakra, the Root Chakra, is located at the base of your spine and its energy flow works in sync with your lower digestive system and legs as well as being your seat of spiritual connectedness.

This Chakra is said to connect you with the energy of the Earth and is associated with feelings of stability, grounding, and safety.

To help the energy flow in this chakra, you can meditate in a cross-legged or lotus position and focus the negative energy into the earth through your tailbone.

2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

The Second Chakra is called the Sacral Chakra. Located in your groin and lower abdominal area, the energy from this chakra directs mainly to the sex organs.

When this chakra is open and healthy, it enhances your creativity and improves your sexual health and relationships.

Your willpower comes from the balance of this chakra, and can allow for better decisions as well as more motivation to do what is best for your body and your life.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The Third Chakra spins between your diaphragm and bellybutton and it is called your Solar Plexus Chakra.

This energy source connects with your digestion system and the core muscles in your abdomen.

When your Solar Plexus Chakra is open and flowing, you will experience feelings of high self-esteem, confidence and independence, and an overall mastery over your own light.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Fourth Chakra is located in the middle of your chest and spins its energy into your heart and lungs, making it your Heart Chakra.

Your heart is an extremely powerful muscle that uses the energy to help express compassion, empathy, and love.

When you have an open Heart Chakra it will help you to experience love, both for yourself and others.

A balance of this energy center will help you provide harmony for the cycle of giving and receiving, love and acceptance.

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The fifth Chakra is called your Throat Chakra and is located at the base of your neck, sharing energy with your esophagus, tongue, and throat.

This is your communication Chakra — verbally through sound as well as through other forms of expression like facial and body language.

Your Throat Chakra helps when trying to convey your true feelings or ideas. When it is open, you feel more confident to speak-up and be heard. You also speak more truthful words and tend to speak more honestly
without any second guessing or hesitation.

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The sixth Chakra lies between your eyes in the center of your forehead and is called your Third Eye Chakra. This energy center focuses on the brain and brainstem to stimulate your thought patterns and increase your spiritual vision.

The energy flow that runs through this area is important to promote higher understanding and wisdom, intuition, perception, and self-knowingness. Using your Third Eye Chakra will allow you to view the world from a less objective point of reference, encouraging higher analytical thinking and deeper understanding of the world around you.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The Seventh Chakra is the unique energy center that inhabits the area directly above the top of your head and is called your Crown Chakra. This energy spool is what keeps you connected with the energy of the divine (or the Universe). This Chakra promotes higher consciousness and deeper levels of enlightenment.

It is this chakra that serves as your spirit and connects all of the other chakras together in order to maintain proper health and energy flow throughout you. Opening this chakra can be done through meditation and conscious effort to channel higher spirits and pranas from the universe.

How Do I know If I have A Blocked Chakra?

If you have blocked chakras, you may experience physical manifestations such as sharp pain, soreness, or illness in the areas explained above. Some signs of imbalance are not necessarily physical but can manifest in your personality.

For example, if you begin to notice that you’re becoming more hesitant to speak your mind or communicate your true feelings, you may have a weak or blocked throat chakra. To help raise the energy flow in this area, you can practice singing, reading out loud or doing breathing exercises. Then, by allowing more energy flow through, it can also help your other chakras.

Your Heart Chakra, which is directly below your Throat Chakra, may have been suffering from the blockage as well but could not have been cleared completely until you clear your throat chakra.

By identifying and understanding the way your different body parts relate to your 7 energetic wheels, you can easily address the energetic source of physical and emotional ailments. So, when trying to release stale energy blocked by one chakra, you can also focus on another to help get it moving.

Now, that you’ve read the guide for chakras for beginners, click here to discover how to identify blocked chakras.


Using your Chakras to influence your body in a healthy way can help you bring a feeling of balance to your life and help you achieve much more.

Chakra balancing takes time and practice of getting to know your body and reading signs that you may need to rebalance certain energy centers. But once you are more in tune to your needs, the possibilities for a happier and healthier life are well within your reach!

Discover The Art of Balancing Your 7 Chakras To Heal and Manifest Your Ideal Life With Chakra Expert & Energy Healer, Anodea Judith in her upcoming FREE Masterclass. Reserve Your Spot below:

Have you tried any techniques to open blocked chakras? Which ones worked for you? Let us know in the comments below.



Mindvalley is creating a global school that delivers transformational education for all ages. Powered by community. Fueled by fun.

We are dedicated to ensuring that humans live happier, healthier, and more fulfilled lives by plugging in the gaps that conventional education failed to teach us.

We do this by organising real-world events around the world and producing world-class quality programmes in several areas of transformation, including mind, body, and performance.

Add comment