Mind 5 min read

Beginners Guide To Chakras: A Complete Chakra Map

by Shannon Terrell September 12, 2018

Ever encountered a chakra map? We hear the word chakra more and more often these days — in energy healing, guided meditations — you might have even heard it in your weekly yoga class.

But if you’re brand new to chakras, don’t worry. Because one of the absolute best ways to get a grasp on chakras is by using a chakra map. And that’s exactly what we’re going to show you today.

This guide will walk you through the basic chakra system, as well as provide you with a complete chakra map with the 7 chakras to follow along with:

  1. Root Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra
  5. Throat Chakra
  6. Third Eye Chakra
  7. Crown Chakra

Let’s begin!

What Do The 7 Chakras Mean?

First, let’s cover the essentials.

A chakra is an energy center. These energy centers can be located both inside and outside (yes, outside!) the physical body. Each chakra is unique and corresponds to a specific set of traits and functions.

When our chakras are well balanced, energy moves freely through them and throughout our bodies. We feel happy, healthy, and at ease.

When our chakras are out of balance with stagnant energy, we feel a whole lot worse. In fact, blocked chakras can even be the culprit behind a number of physical, mental, and emotional ailments.

Deborah King, Author of Mindvalley’s Be A Modern Master Program explains, “Ideally, you want your chakras free from clogged or stagnant energy.”

How do you unclog a blocked chakra? It’s all about learning to focus your energy and intentions. And chakra maps and meditations are a great place to start!

7 Chakra System vs 12 Chakra System

The traditional 7 chakra system is composed of internal chakras — energy centers found within the physical body.

The 12 chakra system includes external chakras — energy centers above and below us that our bodies project.

For our purposes, we’re going to show you a chakra map of the 7 chakra system. It’s the most popular system and is often the one used in chakra meditation.

But it’s definitely worthwhile to know that the 12 chakra system is out there. Besides the essential 7 chakras, the 12 chakra map system also includes: the Earth Star Chakra, the Soul Star Chakra, the Universal Chakra, the Galactic Chakra, and the Divine Gateway Chakra.

seven chakra map

What Are The 7 Chakras In Our Body?

Check out the chakra map above. In it, you’ll see a basic map of the 7 chakras.

As you can see, each of the chakras corresponds to a different color and has a different function:


1. Root Chakra

Color: Red

Position: Base of the spine

Sanskrit name: Muladhara

Responsible for: Feeling grounded, financial independence, security, basic survival



2. Sacral Chakra

Color: Orange

Position: Lower abdomen

Sanskrit name: Svadhishthana

Responsible for: Pleasure, joy, desire, creativity, abundance, emotional balance, sexuality



3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Color: Yellow

Position: Navel

Sanskrit name: Manipura

Responsible for: Personal power, self-esteem, confidence, courage




4. Heart Chakra

Color: Green

Position: Heart

Sanskrit name: Anahata

Responsible for: Love, emotional freedom, compassion, empathy, social relationships




5. Throat Chakra

Color: Blue

Position: Throat

Sanskrit name: Vishuddha

Responsible for: Communication, honestly, faith, artistic expression




6. Third Eye Chakra

Color: Indigo

Position: Middle of the forehead, between the eyes

Sanskrit name: Ajna

Responsible for: Intuition, perception, imagination, wisdom, decision making, clairvoyance


7. Crown Chakra

Color: Ultraviolet, gold, and white

Position: Crown of the head

Sanskrit name: Sahasrara

Responsible for: Spirituality, bliss, Universal energy, Enlightenment


How Do You Open Your 7 Chakras?

There are 3 steps involved in opening a chakra:

  1. Know the location of the chakras in the body
  2. Identify the primary chakra you want to work on
  3. Activate the energy in the chakra

First, know your chakras. Use a chakra map to learn about them. Know what they are, where they are located, and what they are responsible for.

Remember: chakras work as a team. If one is blocked, the others will also not work properly.

So, how do you know which chakra is blocked or imbalanced?

  • First, search for any sources of localized pain. This may help you pinpoint which chakra might be blocked.
  • Second, have a deep look inside yourself. When you know what each chakra is responsible for, it’s easier to know which to work on. What part of your life is lacking? What part of your personal development have you neglected?

The final step is to restore the flow to your chakras. To do this, you’ll have to engage in activities that focus on the specific chakra you’re targeting:

  • Engage in physical activities that focus on the part of the body the chakra is located
  • Do some deep breathing exercises
  • Meditate on the chakra
  • Do some introspective journaling to uncover any emotional reasons for chakra blockage

What causes chakras to be blocked?

Chakras are like little pools of swirling energy. But when something blocks the pool, the energy can’t flow.

When the body is in a constant state of pressure and stress, it tightens and locks.

This can cause the chakras to be disrupted, which prevents energy from flowing freely.

Achieve Perfect Balance In Life By Unblocking Your 7 Chakras

Ever felt you weren’t good enough?

Having trouble with your finances? Or maybe you feel like something’s off (but you don’t know what)?

These could be symptoms of a blocked chakra.

Blocked chakras create a lot of imbalance in our minds, bodies, and spirit. Consequently, all other aspects of our lives - like our finances, relationships, career, and health - also start to suffer.

Thankfully, we can unblock our chakras and restore the flow of celestial energy in our bodies.

Once our energies flow naturally, we’ll be able to break the cycle of pain, frustration and anxiety. We’ll start to lead a more balanced, whole, and fulfilled life.

So, if you want to learn how to unblock your chakras and bring balance into your life, then join this Free Masterclass with world-class Chakra Expert & Energy Healer, Anodea Judith

You’ll also learn:

The “architecture of your soul” through your seven chakras – and how each chakra impact key elements of your human experience (from your wealth, your love life, your ability to communicate, and more.)

How to rapidly diagnose which of your chakras are open or closed so you can identify which area of your life to focus your attention to most.

How to use the “2-Way Chakra Energy Current” so you can manifest your ideal life AND tap into a higher consciousness for inspiration – all at the same time.

Register Today And Discover The Art of Balancing Your 7 Chakras And Manifesting Your Ideal Life!

So, what do you think of the chakra map? Share your thoughts below.

Related Articles