Mind 6 MIN read

What Is The Dhyana Mudra? Preparing For Enlightenment

by Natasha Wanderly September 14, 2018


It sounds like the name of a Nirvana-look-a-like, new age grunge band. Perhaps you’ve briefly heard them screaming zen mantras while flipping through radio stations?

Or, perhaps not. Dhyana isn’t a band like Nirvana.

However, like Nirvana, dhyana is actually a Buddhist state of consciousness achieved through meditation.

Dhyana in Sanskrit simply means “meditation.” But, more accurately, dhyana is the “source” of meditation — a balanced state of mind, encompassing all states of consciousness with non-dual awareness. It is the origin of enlightenment.

Pretty far out, right?

Let’s go one step deeper.

In this article we will answer the following questions:

  1. What is the Dhyana Mudrā?
  2. How is Dhyana Mudrā practiced?
  3. What is Dhyana Mudrā’s symbolic significance?
  4. What are the benefits of Dhyana?

Let’s begin!

What Is The Dhyana Mudrā?

The Dhyana Mudrā is one of the most prominent hasta mudrās (hand gestures) in Buddhism. You can learn more about mudrās here

It is believed to have been used by Gautama Buddha (Siddhartha) throughout his life — most notably during the famous moment of his enlightenment under the Bodhi tree.

However, even before Siddhartha, it was used by yogis of antiquity to deepen concentration during meditation (Siddhartha just nailed it first).

This mudrā symbolizes balance.

It is used to balance duality across mind, body, and spirit — action and stillness; thinking and feeling; masculine and feminine; enlightenment and illusion.

A “perfectly balanced being” is thought to cause and be the effect of enlightenment, which is why this mudrā is considered to be particularly important and auspicious.

dyana mudra

How many mudrās are there?

Depending on the sacred text, the number of mudrās can vary from 20 to 900.

For example, in Odissi, the Indian classical dance that originated in the Hindu temples of Odisha, there are 20 mudrās.

The Natya Shastra, a Sanskrit text on the performing arts, describes 24 mudrās.

To go further, in Bharatanatyam there are 28 root mudrās.

In the Kathakali dance, mudrās can be combined (one hand, both hands, body posture) to make over 900 mudrā combinations.

What are the types of mudrās?

Hand mudrās are the most common form of mudrā, but mudrās can be completed with the hands, face, or even the full body.

The different types of mudrās are:

  1. Hasta Mudras – Hand Mudras
  2. Māna Mudras – Head Mudras
  3. Kaya Mudras – Postural Mudras
  4. Bandha Mudras – Lock Mudras
  5. Adhara Mudras – Perineal Mudras

What do you do with your hands while meditating?

Is it necessary to practice a mudrā while meditating? Not at all.

In fact, how you place your hands while meditating depends solely on what makes you feel comfortable and relaxed.

You can pick a mudrā that you feel most comfortable with at a given moment of time and practice it. This can help you to concentrate and feel more relaxed and at peace.

But don’t ever feel that you’re obligated to use a mudrā. Do what feels natural and helpful in the moment. 


How Is Dhyana Mudrā Practiced?

To practice the Dhyana mudrā, gently extend your fingers with your palms facing to the sky. Place your right hand on top of your left hand. Overlap your fingers so that you can comfortably raise the thumbs and connect them, creating a bowl or triangle.

This gesture is typically done while in seated meditation. It can be incorporated into more active forms of meditation, but to fully access the dhyana state, it is better practiced in stillness with an awareness of the breath (pranayama).

Here is a fantastic infographic on how to best combine mudrās with pranayama.

Some variations of this mudrā are done with just the left hand, symbolizing the feminine principle of wisdom.

If what you need is power for self-exploration and self-discovery, the feminine spirit can help with this effort to look within.

What Is Dhyana Mudrā‘s Symbolic Significance?

At the core of all Buddhist philosophies are 3 highly valued principles:

Dharma — Learning, truth

Sangha — Community

Buddha — Buddhahood, itself

Together, they are called the Triratna, or the three jewels.

The triangular geometry of the Dhyana Mudrā symbolizes these three jewels. This triangle, called a “mystic triangle,” is also symbolic of the spiritual fire that illuminates the dark and incinerates impurities.

In idols of the “medicine Buddha,” this mudrā is also symbolic of a medicine bowl, which is said to contain the elixir of life.

Within our bodies, our left hand represents feminine energy, while our right hand represents masculine energy. So, when practicing this mudrā, the balance of these opposing energies is symbolized in the connection of the thumbs.

The image of the bowl, in this gendered sense of the Dhyana Mudrā, symbolizes the transmutation of sexual energy. In meditation, the bowl is filled up with sexual energy, allowing the practitioner to redirect this energy into a non-sexual purpose.

Above all, the Dhyana Mudrā is a symbol of the mystical state of dhyana.

The right hand represents the knowledge and truth of enlightenment, while the left hand represents the illusory nature of the Universe. The balance of these radically different truths is perfectly embodied as one fluid truth in the dhyana state.

hand mudras

What Are The Benefits Of Dhyana?

The dhyana state has a number of benefits, including:


  • Develops mindfulness
  • Evokes spiritual awakening
  • Integrates Nirvana (bliss), Samadhi (presence), and Samsara (the cycle of existence)


  • Relieves stress
  • Improves concentration and memory
  • Promotes alertness


  • Heals past emotional traumas
  • Inspires optimism for the future
  • Renews emotional energy
  • Alleviates anger and depression


You’ve Probably Got Meditation All Wrong.

A lot of people don’t do it, because they just can’t seem to ‘clear their minds’.

They try to empty their thoughts, and when that doesn’t work, they think they suck at meditation and give up.

But you see, the mind is designed to think. It does so automatically, just like how your heart beats.

The truth is, meditation isn’t about clearing your mind. It’s supposed to improve performance in all other aspects of your life.

If You’d Like To Discover What Meditation REALLY Is And How It Can Completely Transform Your Life And Bring You To The Next Level...Then Join Emily Fletcher, Meditation Master And Bestselling Author, In This FREE Masterclass

She’ll also teach you:

The 3 myths about meditationthat will allow you to focus on what meditation really is, and how it can help you enhance your performance in life,

Understand the concept of ‘Adaptation Energy’, which is what high performers and successful people use to adapt and thrive in their respective fields,

A 15-minute guided meditation technique that you can use to instantly give you a boost of energy and help release the stress which is holding you back!

How to Uplevel Your Meditation to Become a Super Performer at Work & Life

How do you balance opposing forces within yourself? Have you ever used mudrās in your spiritual practice? Share with us in a comment below! 

by Natasha Wanderly
Natasha is a happy no-mad with a love for living lucidly, dancing with fire, and talking to strangers. She's also an enthusiast of self-development and personal growth, and is constantly reading and writing about it. From living with Shamans in the Amazon to studying hieroglyphs in Egypt, she is always on some type of adventure. Every day, she wakes up with two goals: 1) Be here 2) Be love.

Related Articles