Mind 7 min read

Levels Of Consciousness Psychology – How To Rise To The Top?

by Mindvalley November 24, 2018

What is consciousness?

While there are plenty of theories trying to make sense of this elusive thing we call “consciousness,” humanity is yet to fully understand what exactly it is.

This post is all about exploring just that. We will dive into consciousness psychology, existence, and how we can use our understanding of consciousness to become the best version of ourselves.

What Is Consciousness Psychology?

What are the different levels of consciousness in psychology?

Although we are yet to ascertain the full breadth and nature of consciousness, we have a fair amount of knowledge about it in terms of the psychological definition of consciousness.

Basically, consciousness psychology refers to the faculty of being aware of our internal and external environments. Everything that we feel, think, sense and do is due to our awareness and consciousness.

This is as simply as you can put it.

But the moment you start delving more into the topic, the more challenging it becomes.

There are so many schools of thought about the nature and formation of consciousness that one can only stand in awe.

However, we will stick to our purpose and point you towards the specific aspects of consciousness psychology that we need in order to live our lives in a continuously better manner.

What Is A State Of Consciousness In Psychology?

“States of consciousness” in psychology refers to the condition of consciousness at any given moment. For example, a state of heightened awareness, a state of anxiety or sadness, a sleep state, or a drug-induced state.

Basically, there is a broad spectrum of states that your consciousness can be in, and it all depends on the level of consciousness you are currently living in your life.

What Is An Altered State Of Consciousness In Psychology?

Now, an altered state of consciousness is such a state that you can’t achieve normally — such as hypnotic states, lucid dreaming, out of body experiences and many others.

Achieving altered states can help us on the path to self-discovery and realizations, and they can be accessed through different tools and methods with the help of teachers.

However, rarely, some individuals can accidentally find themselves in such states under the effects of drugs, trauma, psychosis, and sleep deprivation. But this may cause harm or psychological impairment.

So, how can we use our understanding of consciousness to become a better human being on this planet?

Let’s start by looking at the different levels of consciousness.

What Are The Different Levels Of Consciousness?

What is altered state of consciousness in psychology?

We all know the three levels of consciousness that Freudian psychology has taught us — the conscious, subconscious and unconscious.

But the psychological study of consciousness has moved forward a lot and many advanced viewpoints have emerged. Among them, what is most useful to us is the theory of continuously evolving consciousness.

As per this theory, human consciousness is on an evolutionary journey through subsequent levels of development.

Through this evolutionary process, we have evolved from “early caveman consciousness” to “modern-man” consciousness. Many ancient eastern philosophies also point towards this same truth.

Now, naturally, the question arises: so, what are the next levels of human consciousness?

According to Vishen Lakhiani, the founder of Mindvalley and the author of The Code of the Extraordinary Mind, there are 3 more levels the human consciousness must evolve through to reach full enlightenment.

The levels of consciousness are:

Level 0: Early Man. The humble beginnings of human consciousness when we were hunter-gatherers.

Level 1: Modern Man. Most of humanity is currently living in this level; struggling with both the physical world and the cognitive world of ideas.

Level 2: The Culture Hacker. More and more of us are starting to question the world around them. And that’s how we are stepping into the level of the “culture hacker.”

Level 3: The State Of Limitless. Sense of mission, connectedness, intuition, inspiration and blessedness are the traits of this state.

Level 4: The God Mind. This is the pinnacle of conscious growth. Only a handful few have experienced it so far.  

Read this blog here to learn more about the levels and how to keep evolving consciously.

Why Care About Your Level Of Consciousness?

Simply put, if you care about your personal growth and the growth of humanity, as a whole, you should care about your consciousness and its development.

You should be aware of the level of consciousness you are currently in and actively step up your conscious evolution to reach more enlightened levels.

The truth of existence is, you are here to evolve into higher states of being.

And to make it easier for you, Vishen Lakhiani has created a powerful personal transformation program “Becoming Limitless” using practical tools of consciousness engineering and his real-life knowledge and expertise.

Do you believe that you need to work hard to be successful?

Like most people, your answer is most probably ‘yes’. After all, it’s what we’ve all been brought up to believe.

The problem is that when you believe this, you start to lose yourself to the grind. You start to associate success with pain and struggle.

But What If You Didn’t Need To Suffer To Be Successful?

Wouldn’t That Be Far More Sustainable?

If That Sounds Good To You, Then...Join Vishen Lakhiani’s FREE Masterclass, Where He Shows You How You Can Attain Success Without Having To Suffer For It.

You’ll also learn,

The Myth of success, where Vishen reveals the ultimate myth of success that keeps us locked in mediocrity and prevents us from achieving our goals,

A simple daily practice that will allow you to notice more positive opportunities throughout your day. This will allow you to see just how malleable reality is, and how you can bend it in your favor.

Understand the Four Key Stages of Human Consciousness, and how to identify where you are today, so you can accelerate your personal evolution. Understanding which stage of consciousness you’re at will tell you how best to maximize your growth so you can accelerate your transformation!

Get Proven Tools To Instantly Awaken Your Limitless Potential On This Free Masterclass

Which level of consciousness do you think you are currently in, and how would you like your consciousness to evolve? Share with us in a comment below!

by Mindvalley
Mindvalley is creating a global school that delivers transformational education for all ages. Powered by community. Fueled by fun. We are dedicated to ensuring that humans live happier, healthier, and more fulfilled lives by plugging in the gaps that conventional education failed to teach us. We do this by organising real-world events around the world and producing world-class quality programmes in several areas of transformation, including mind, body, and performance.

Related Articles